The main idea revolves around being able to only send and see one message at a time, which means there’s no history of your messages beside the most recent update. There are no advertisements inside the app, and the only way we earn something is through the process below.
If you’re talking with someone, and you already sent “Hi!”, but just updated your message to “How are you?”, it means that “Hi!” will be saved as what we call last message, and it can be viewed once you unlock that chat. A permanent chat unlock only costs a penny, so you can always see the last message of that chat.
Once your unlocked chat is removed, you won’t get a credit back or something similar. In the future, a subscription will also be available that unlocks all chats (while the subscription is active), with your account.
As said earlier, no history of your messages is saved as every chat on Sosin is composed of the following elements:
- A timestamp of when that chat initiated
- Our internal ID of the user who initiated that chat (the “sender”)
- Our internal ID of the user who received that chat (the “recipient”)
- The sender’s message, with only a timestamp of the last edit
- The recipient’s message, with only a timestamp of the last edit
- The last message, with the timestamp of the last “lost” message (as described above)
As you can see, there isn’t a “list of messages” as every other messaging app, which is our main distinguishing feature: all messages are overwritten instead of created. Once you send a message on other messaging apps, there will be a new registry for that, while on Sosin, it’s always the same registry, forever changing only its contents and timestamp.
If you’re concerned with security, Sosin is using Firebase’s Cloud Firestore, which is encrypted using the 256-bit Advanced Encryption Standard, and each encryption key is itself encrypted with a regularly rotated set of master keys.